Acme, supporting artists since 1972


2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006

Mitchell Vowles selected for the Jonathan Harvey Award 2018/19


Mitchell Vowles has been selected for the Jonathan Harvey Award from a shortlist of six by a panel including the artist Rafal Zajko.

The other shortlisted artists were Maisy Alvin, Martha Clarke, Zoe Forster, Rashi Rajguru, and Colette Williams.

As part of the Acme Graduate Programme, the award offers one final-year BA student from Camberwell, Chelsea or Wimbledon College of Arts (UAL) a studio for one year, bursary of £7,000, mentoring from visiting artists and curators, and the chance to work with a gallery towards a public exhibition or project. The programme aims to intervene at a critical moment to support early-career artists in the transition from art school to professional practice.

Speaking about Mitchell’s selection, Rafal Zajko said, "Mitchell's mixture of technical competence and difficult subject matter (toxic masculinity, lad culture) stood out from the selection. I feel the extra year-long support that Acme offers

will be used to its fullest potential and will be curious to see how his practice evolves - definitely one to watch!" Award donor, Chris Jermyn commented that “Mitchell was an ideal winner of the award, given his determination to have a career as an artist and contemporary relevance of his work”.

The selection panel comprised of the artist and previous Chelsea BA Award recipient, Rafal Zajko, Lea O’Loughlin (Head of Residencies & Awards, Acme) and Charlie Coffey (Residencies & Awards Manager, Acme).  

The Jonathan Harvey Award is a partnership between Acme, the Tomart Foundation and University of the Arts London. 

Since 1972, Acme has provided affordable homes, studio space, residencies and awards to fine artists. By providing the space, time, finance and opportunity we aim to promote the development of art and artists’ careers.

Back to top...
  • Acme Studios
  • 44 Copperfield Road
  • London
  • E3 4RR
  • T +44 (0)20 8981 6811
  • E
National Housing Federation member | NFASP member | Supported using public funding by Arts Council England